Drivers Hang onto License After Ticket

Author: Joe Pioletti Posted on: . Filed in: Updates.

Can I Keep My Car If I File Bankruptcy?

People will be happy to know that effective January 1st 2015 drivers who are ticketed in Illinois for a petty traffic offense will be able to retain their driver’s license before the ticket is paid.  Prior to this drivers were forced to turn over their license as security that they would pay the ticket.

US Regulator Takes Aim at Debt Collectors

Author: Joe Pioletti Posted on: . Filed in: Updates.

Debt_Collection

The Wall Street Journal recently released a story that the U.S. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, or CFPD, is taking aim at a large debt collection law firm. The CFPD is a segment of the Executive Branch of the US government who is charged with enforcing federal consumer financial laws. The recent law suit filed by… Read More »

Law Would Allow Speed Cameras State-Wide

Author: Joe Pioletti Posted on: . Filed in: Updates.

Illinois Speed Camera

Automated traffic enforcement cameras used to enforce speed limits may be coming to a community near you very soon. Currently, Illinois law allows for speed cameras in Chicago only. However, new proposed legislation would allow for statewide use. The bill, known as HB 4632, is currently before the Illinois House of Representatives. The bill’s intent… Read More »

Illegal Downloading: A Far From Covert Crime

Author: Joe Pioletti Posted on: . Filed in: Updates.

Illegal Downloading

It all seems so easy. Movies, music and even computer software is out there in the cyber world, free, seemingly at your fingertips. For some, downloading illegal copyrighted material is justified by their at times exorbitant prices. But in the end, it could cost you a lot of money. While one can find and download… Read More »

The New Concealed Carry Law in Illinois

Author: Joe Pioletti Posted on: . Filed in: Updates.

Pioletti & Pioletti Concealed Carry Illinois

In 2013 Illinois became the final state in the country to authorize some form of concealed carry of a firearm. Effective January 5th 2014, people 21 years of age who have completed the required 16 hours of training can begin applying for a permit. As recently as early January 2014 the wording of the new… Read More »