Pioletti & Pioletti
Eureka, IL LOCATION
24/7 live phone answering
Illinois law defines assault as intentional conduct that reasonably causes a person to feel afraid of impending violence. Under those terms, an individual can be found guilty of committing assault without touching or harming another person. Words alone do not constitute an assault, but threats accompanied by conduct consistent with those threats can be treated as an assault if the words and conduct cause the victim to reasonably believe that he or she is about to be hit or injured.
There are two types of assault: simple assault and aggravated assault. Simple assault is a Class C misdemeanor, and does not involve a weapon or an additional crime, such as robbery. A simple assault conviction can lead to up to 30 days in jail and a fine of up to $1,500. Aggravated assault, a Class A misdemeanor, is more serious. A typical aggravated assault occurs when an individual threatens another person with a deadly weapon, but can also include assaulting a state worker or teacher on state grounds, assaulting a physically handicapped person, or assaulting an individual over the age of 60. More serious aggravated assaults, such as an assault that involves the discharge of a firearm, can be charged as a Class 4 felony, which can result in up to 3 years in prison and a $25,000 fine.
The crime of assault is taken very seriously in Illinois. A knowledgeable attorney can sift through the facts and details of your case in order to achieve a positive result in court. One way to attack an assault charge is to prove that the alleged victim’s fear of impending violence was unreasonable. Another way to fight an assault charge is to show that the individual was acting in self-defense. An attorney with an understanding of the ins and outs of the local court system can find the best route to take throughout your proceedings. At Pioletti & Pioletti, we offer free initial consultations in order to hear your side of the story and develop a strong defense.