Misdemeanor Excessive Speeding Tickets
If you have been given a ticket for speeding 26 miles per hour over the speed limit in Illinois, you need an attorney who works with misdemeanor excessive speeding tickets from Pioletti Pioletti & Nichols. Unlike typical speeding tickets, tickets for 26 or more over the limit are misdemeanor offenses.
Under 625 ILCS 5/11-601.5(a), speeding 26 miles over the speed limit is a Class B misdemeanor. Class B misdemeanors are punishable by up to 180 days in jail and a fine of up to $1,500.
Under 625 ILCS 5/11-601.5(b), speeding 35 miles over the speed limit is a Class A misdemeanor. Class A misdemeanors are punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500.
Illinois Speeding Violations Punishable by Jail
It may not be as bad as it sounds, however, many violations for excessive speeding can be kept off your public driving record through court supervision. Court supervision is basically an agreement between you and the State whereby you agree to pay all your fines, not commit other traffic or criminal violations for a period of time, and obey any other terms imposed, and in exchange the ticket will not show up on your public driving record. This arrangement prevents the ticket from adding points to your record and from raising your car insurance rates. If you are facing a speeding ticket of this magnitude, you should speak with an attorney familiar with a misdemeanor for excessive speeding tickets.
Court supervision is not automatic. A Court can impose more serious penalties. Having an attorney represent you who is experienced at dealing with the State’s Attorney can make a big difference in your case. An attorney can help identify and advocate any weaknesses in the case against you. Even if there are no major weaknesses in the State’s case, an attorney can help ensure that you receive court supervision and that your driving record is protected.
The official misdemeanor excessive speeding law is as follows:
625 ILCS 5/11-601.5
Sec. 11-601.5. Driving 26 miles per hour or more in excess of applicable limit.
(a) A person who drives a vehicle upon any highway of this State at a speed that is 26 miles per hour or more but less than 35 miles per hour in excess of the applicable maximum speed limit established under this Chapter or a local ordinance commits a Class B misdemeanor.
(b) A person who drives a vehicle upon any highway of this State at a speed that is 35 miles per hour or more in excess of the applicable maximum speed limit established under this Chapter or a local ordinance commits a Class A misdemeanor.
Source: P.A. 98-511, eff. 1-1-14.
Reckless Driving for Speeding
You might have been on your way to an important meeting at your office and were speeding to get there on time. Maybe you were driving to the doctor’s office to take your child in for a checkup. Whatever reason you have for speeding (if you were at all), you may have thought you were only going to get a speeding ticket when a police officer pulled you over. However, if you were speeding a certain amount over the speeding limit and a police officer charged you with reckless driving, this is a much more serious and permanent offense. It is not uncommon to get misdemeanor excessive speeding tickets. Instead of simply having the option to pay your ticket by going to court or paying online, you face much more severe consequences. The attorneys at Pioletti Pioletti & Nichols know that getting an excessive speeding ticket can seem like a small offense, but you will want to hire an attorney to help you through the process. For more information on reckless driving and speeding, call our office.
I didn’t realize you could get a misdemeanor for speeding. What does this mean?
Every state has different rules on what can cause you to get an excessive speeding ticket. In fact, even when you get this ticket for speeding you will find that there are still different rules on this depending on which state you are in. Typically, if you were driving 20 miles per hour (MPH) over the speed limit (or 26 in Illinois) or if you were driving at 80 MPH or higher, a police officer can charge you with excessive speeding. It is important that you check with the police officer who is charging you to make sure that this is a misdemeanor excessive speeding ticket and not a regular speeding ticket and ask them about appearing in court.
This is my first offense. What does this mean?
If this is your first-time offense then your history could work in your favor. If you have a clean driving record–including few or no speeding tickets–this will work in your favor to show that you are typically very careful on the road and do not drive in a careless, reckless, or aggressive manner. Talk with your attorney to see how your history can be used to speak to your good driving abilities.
Will I go to jail?
While it’s true that a conviction means a criminal record, this does not necessarily mean that you will go to jail. Depending on where you were charged, if you were going above 90 MPH it may automatically mean jail time. In some states and counties, every mile you were going above 90 MPH could mean an extra night in jail. Further, if you were aggressive or rude to the officer charging you, you may find that they are less willing to work with you.
Bloomington Attorneys with Experience Representing and Defending People Charged with Misdemeanor Excessive Speeding Tickets
We have a lot of experience representing people charged with misdemeanor excessive speeding tickets in McLean County in Illinois and in surrounding counties. We make ourselves accessible to our clients nearly 24/7 via email, phone, and even text message communication. We strive to be there for our clients and ensure that they receive the best and most professional representation possible. If you are facing a misdemeanor excessive speeding ticket contact the attorneys at Pioletti Pioletti & Nichols today at firstname.lastname@example.org.